New Green Energy System for McAdam Railway Station

eAwazLocal News

McAdam – Rural communities play an important role in building a strong, sustainable future for all Canadians. The Government of Canada is helping local organizations seize new opportunities for economic growth and development to improve climate resilience and transition to a greener economy.

Jenica Atwin, Member of Parliament for Fredericton, announced an investment of $750,000 through ACOA’s Innovative Communities Fund (ICF) for the McAdam Historical Restoration Commission (MHRC). The announcement was made on behalf of Gudie Hutchings, Minister of Rural Economic Development and Minister responsible for ACOA. Kathy Bockus, Minister of Seniors and MLA for Saint Croix, also announced a contribution of $350,000 on behalf of the Province of New Brunswick.

The project will support the installation of a new geothermal green energy system at the McAdam Railway Station, reducing the organization’s electricity costs by at least 50 per cent.  The savings will allow the McAdam Railway Station to extend its tourism season from four to eight months. As a major tourism operator, a longer season means increased opportunities for local businesses as well as economic growth for the region.

In March, the Public Policy Forum published a report that confirms that Atlantic Canada’s economy is bustling and the region is poised for exponential growth. Today’s announcement highlights how the Government of Canada is contributing to this momentum – strengthening our communities, creating new opportunities, and setting the stage for a strong, sustainable future. It also demonstrates the Government of Canada’s commitment to taking action on climate change.

Green energy projects like this one with the McAdam Railway Station aren’t just good for our climate – they’re good for our economy. The Government of Canada will always help rural communities and organizations get on track for a more resilient, sustainable and affordable future.” – Gudie Hutchings, Minister of Rural Economic Development and Minister responsible for ACOA