Canada sanctions individuals affiliated with Hamas

eAwazCanada News

Ottawa – Mélanie Joly, Minister of Foreign Affairs, has announced that Canada is imposing new sanctions under the Special Economic Measures Act (SEMA). The sanctions apply to 11 individuals that hold senior positions within Hamas or its affiliates and were integral to the planning, funding and execution of the October 7 terrorist attacks against Israel.

Along with its international partners, Canada is taking decisive action to limit Hamas’s ability to raise and use funds to carry out further attacks against Israel. These measures will impose a prohibition on dealings related to the listed individuals and are being announced in support of efforts by Canada’s international partners to implement additional sanctions against Hamas and its affiliates. This is the first time that Canada has named SEMA regulations against a non-state actor.

The list of sanctioned individuals includes:

  •  Yahya Sinwar, leader, Hamas
  •  Muhammed Deif, military leader, Hamas
  • Akram al-Ajouri, military leader, Palestinian Islamic Jihad

This announcement comes as part of Canada’s response to the grave breach of international peace and security on October 7, 2023, and the ongoing threat posed by Hamas and its affiliates to Israel. Canada remains committed to supporting peace and security in the Middle East and will continue to take action against Hamas and its affiliates.

“Canada unequivocally condemns Hamas’s terrorist attack against Israel, its unacceptable treatment of hostages and its heinous use of sexual and gender-based violence as a tactic of war. Today’s announcement marks a significant step in Canada’s response to these acts and demonstrates our commitment to a comprehensive, just and lasting peace in the Middle East.” – Mélanie Joly, Minister of Foreign Affairs